The citizens welcomed the New Year first after the 1994 presidential candidate promised, if he won, that the locals would celebrate the New Year first; the country is divided into three time zones and the easternmost region actually now celebrates first

More lines about Kiribati, Oceania

Visit all Kiribati lines archive